Alcohol Laws

The minimum drinking age is 21 for ALL U.S. States

City of Lawrence

It is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to possess, consume, obtain or purchase alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage in Lawrence, except as authorized by law.

It is illegal in Lawrence to host social activities that allow individuals under the age of 21 to possess or consume alcohol or cereal malt beverages. Unlawfully hosting minors consuming alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage is a misdemeanor, for which the minimum fine is $1000.

City of Lawrence - Legal Consequences of Underage Involvement with Alcohol  

State of Kansas

It is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to possess, consume, obtain or purchase alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage in Kansas, except as authorized by law. The Kansas Liquor Control Act (pdf) by the Kansas Department of Revenue Alcoholic Beverage Control provides detailed information regarding purchase or consumption of alcoholic beverage by minor in Chapter 41-727.


One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
—ALA
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today